jump to navigation

2009 Reviews

If you have finished a really old classic (or a modern retelling) between November 2009 and February 2010 and reviewed it on a blog, leave a link to it in the comments below. Please mention the title and author as well. These links may be included in periodic “round-ups” on the site.

Happy reading!

Comments»

1. Bookpusher (Sharon) - November 14, 2009

I have briefly posted on Sophocles Oedipus Rex, will post on the other Theban plays as I complete them but this is at least a start, link as follows:
http://thegenteelarsenal.blogspot.com/2009/11/oedipus-primal-crime-for-really-old.html
Thanks and happy reading!

2. sari - November 23, 2009

I have just read the 14th centery poem; Sir Gawain and the Green Knight.I have posted a short review on my blog.

3. rebeccareid - December 2, 2009

I reviewed a Medieval French song-story, Aucassin and Nicolette: http://reviews.rebeccareid.com/aucassin-and-nicolette-by-an-out-of-the-box-medieval-author/

4. November Reviews Round-Up « Really Old Classics Challenge - December 2, 2009

[…] Reviews jump to navigation […]

5. sari - December 3, 2009

I have just finished two more books. Here is a link to my blog. http://theviewfromsarisworld.blogspot.com/

Now on to a modern retelling of Dante’s Inferno

6. Eva - December 4, 2009
7. Richard - December 15, 2009

I recently reviewed Petronius’ raunchy satire The Satyricon, maybe the oldest surviving novel (~63-65 AD), over here: http://caravanaderecuerdos.blogspot.com/2009/12/satyricon.html

8. Heather J - December 18, 2009

Finished my first one! My review of Medea, by Euripides is here: http://age30books.blogspot.com/2009/12/medea.html

9. Zee - December 21, 2009

I finished The Epic of Gilgamesh I liked the story but not the translation. Willing to give it another go though

http://readinginthenorth.blogspot.com/2009/12/book-review-epic-of-gilgamesh.html

10. sari - December 29, 2009

I finished the forth and final book, Dante’s Comedy and To Hell and back a modern readers guide. http://theviewfromsarisworld.blogspot.com/2009/12/i-finally-finished-dantes-comedy-fourth.html

What a great challenge. Thanks so much for hosting this!

11. Mel u - December 31, 2009

I just did a review of The Tales of Ish-early 10th century Japanese literature-great challenge

12. Eva - January 3, 2010

I’ve reviewed my third book, The Travels of Ibn Battutah ed. by Tim Mackintosh-Smith!

http://astripedarmchair.wordpress.com/2010/01/03/sunday-salon-the-warm-fuzzies-post/#travels

13. Anni - January 3, 2010

Hi all, here is my first review for this challenge, The Prince by Niccolo Machiavelli
http://almost-insider.blogspot.com/2010/01/prince-by-niccolo-machiavelli.html

14. Bookpusher (Sharon) - January 4, 2010

Just posting the link to my completed review of the Theban Plays .
http://thegenteelarsenal.blogspot.com/2010/01/theban-plays.html
Happy new year everyone!

15. Heather J. - January 5, 2010

Hi Rebecca! I finished another book, an ancient Norse epic called Volsungasaga. Here’s the link: http://age30books.blogspot.com/2010/01/i-read-it-volsungasaga.html

16. Megan - January 8, 2010
17. rebeccareid - January 11, 2010

Here’s my review of Medea (from a few weeks ago): http://reviews.rebeccareid.com/medea-by-euripides/

18. Reviews Round-Up (Through January 11) « Really Old Classics Challenge - January 11, 2010

[…] Reviews jump to navigation […]

19. Megan - February 4, 2010

Here’s my extra credit review of The Palace of Illusions:

http://leabhran.blogspot.com/2010/02/palace-of-illusions-chitra-banerjee.html

20. rebeccareid - March 1, 2010

My other reviews:

The Pillow Book by Sei Shonagon*
Sir Gawain and the Green Knight
Moses, Man of the Mountain by Zora Neale Hurston

21. Jennygirl - March 1, 2010

Here is my review for
The Epic of Gilgamesh

22. Heather - March 1, 2010

Not much of a review, but I did mention the work I read last month on my blog. Poetics

23. Heather J. - March 1, 2010

I already submitted my first two. My 3rd is here: http://age30books.blogspot.com/2010/02/golden-ass-or-my-first-dnf-of-2010.html but it is a DNF.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: