jump to navigation

Where are you now? January 15, 2010

Posted by Heather J in Uncategorized.
trackback

Hi ROC Challenge participants! I hope you all enjoyed your holidays/days off. Things are finally settling down for Rebecca and I – hope the same is true for you.

How are you doing with this challenge?  Are you finding your reading difficult or easy? Let us know in the comments:

  • how many books you have read so far,
  • what you are reading now,
  • what you plan to read before the end of February,
  • and anything else you want to share.

How am I doing?  I’ve read two things so far: MEDEA (the Greek tragedy), by Euripides, and VOSLUNGASAGA (the Norse epic).  Right now I’m working on THE GOLDEN ASS (Roman era stories), by Apuleius.  I hope to also to start THE ULSTER CYCLE (series), by Randy Lee Eickhoff, but I’m not holding my breath on that one.

Rebecca is moving right along with the challenge.  So far she has read three things: AUCCASSIN ET NICOLETTE, MEDEA, and THE PILLOW BOOK.  Before the challenge ends she hopes to get to read SIR GAWAIN AND THE GREEN KNIGHT, maybe BEOWULF and maybe Sapphos’ IF NOT, WINTER. We’ll see how long it takes, she says.  She also wants to read Zora Neale Hurston’s MOSES, MAN OF THE MOUNTAIN which is a “retelling” of the Biblical story and WAR MUSIC by Christopher Logue, which is a poetic retelling of parts of the Iliad.  Rebecca says: “So much I want to read, I love them, it’s just always hard to make them a priority”

Now it’s your turn … please let us know how you’re progressing with this challenge!

Comments»

1. Elena - January 15, 2010

I signed up for one book and read Shakespeare’s Midsummer Night’s Dream. Got it finished already. Will probably get a second book finished before the deadline too. Don’t know what it’ll be yet though.

2. rebeccareid - January 26, 2010

I got through Sir Gawain! Beautiful. I’m not sure which to do next in terms of old stuff, but I’ve started Hurston’s novel!

I’ve heard great things about Aupelius, so I hope you enjoy it, Heather!

3. Heather - February 10, 2010

Unfortunately…not so good — but there have been exigent circumstances. I commited to reading one (with the hopes of actually getting two in), which I intended to do in January. Due to a family death, however, I only succeeded in reading 2 of the 5 books total I had planned for January. But hey — still two weeks left of February, so there is still hope!


Leave a Reply

